My Labor Day Nightmare

I had a very tough Labor Day this year. On the morning of Labor Day, I had a meltdown, and my mom told me that I was acting like a crazy person because of the meltdown. I said to her, “Mom, I’m autistic, not crazy.” This was because that morning I wanted to end the conversation with my stepdad and my stepdad was really mean to me abourt it, telling me that he wasn’t gonna make anything for me, all because I stopped a conversation. I felt like I was being judged for shortening a conversation. I know that that is not the way that people are supposed to be treating autistic people.

Labor Day afternoon was worse, because when my stepdad yelled at me for leaving the bowl on the table after lunch, I wanted to tell him that it was all a big mistake but then he made me go up into my bedroom. He even snapped at me when he told me to go into my room.

Things were really awful for me that day, because I had really bad cramps and I didn’t want to deal with them. Life isn’t fair for autistic adults like me. It’s really hard.

Later I had some shrimp and noodles with salmon, haddock, and nachos with hummus. I enjoyed my Labor Day supper and it was really delicious. I think that Labor Day evening was much better than the morning and afternoon, because Labor Day morning and afternoon was really horrible for me.

Anyway, it is now fall, and the cooler weather has finally come. I am enjoying the cooler weather. I can’t wait until the leaves change color so that I can take pictures of all of the pretty leaves. I can’t wait until I have some pumpkin bread and eat it. I can’t wait until I have a sip of pumpkin spice latte.

I’m glad that I can go to choir practice again. I have really missed choir practice. It’s so much fun and I love learning all of the songs. I love my choir teacher, Harriet. I love my fellow choir members.

I am also glad that I get to watch the Penn State Football games again, and the Sunday night NFL football games on NBC.  I also like to watch all the shows on NBC, including my local news program. My favorites are Superstore, The Good Place, Chicago Med and This Is Us.

Leave a Reply

