My Story, As Written on an Author’s Facebook Page

The following is a post written by me that was on an author’s facebook page, whose books that I have never read but would like to get.

It makes me cry when autistic people get bullied, and ableism in general makes me cry. I am an autistic adult and I know what it’s like to be bullied, and there are a lot of people out there who want to bully, judge and condemn us autistic adults. I was bullied in elementary school and high school, and it really hurt me so much. I really wish that more people would open their hearts to us autistic people and remind us that we are loved in so many ways. There is so much hate in this world and so much judgement in this world, and there’s a lot of injustice in this world too. If you see somebody who is different from you, you need to love them and understand them. The same is true for those who have Down Syndrome, cerebral palsy, Bells palsy, any other disability. Don’t throw them away, don’t talk over them, don’t judge, bully, gaslight, exploit, mistreat or threaten them. They need your love and understanding every day.

I also cry about disabled people getting abused in institutions and being left to vegetate and rot. It really saddens me. I know that sometimes caregivers can be really abusive to their clients. That just puts a really huge hurt in my heart. I know this for a fact because I have read blogs about how this autistic woman was abused by her caregivers. She had so many caregivers that were really mean and abusive towards her. It really made me sad. It really made me think, and it really made me wonder, “What’s wrong with this world?” That’s why I speak out against ableism and disabled people getting abused. If they get abused, say something.

Leave a Reply

