Welcome New Friends!!!

This is a note to explain about me. I am a 29 year old autistic adult, and I have suffered from being misjudged, misunderstood and rejected because people don’t take the time to understand and get to know me. My goal in life is to tell my story, through blogging, and to educate those who don’t understand what it’s like to be autistic, and to help them understand what life is like for autistic people.

I don’t cause drama and I’m not a drama queen, however I vent because it helps me process what happens to me and educate all of you who I contact so that you know and understand. So hopefully all of you will understand this. I wish this world would be a lot more autism-friendly.

Unfortunatley, I am the victim of bullying. I have been bullied by schoolkids, my first stepdad, older and younger brothers, etc.,and I am still being bullied. In 2007 I went on a Broadway themed message board but the friendships I made didn’t last very long. I cried for weeks. I fear that the bullying will keep on happening. That is my fear. How my friendship ended with those people is so heartbreaking that I can’t even explain it.

I promise you that I don’t write this note for pity. I am trying to get this story viral for the reasons that I have already mentioned. These are pleas for my voice to be heard. Because I have a story to tell. We all do.

To continue my story…

When I was in seventh grade, I had run off my aide. Because I have very loud meltdowns and go on sensory overload when I am upset.

It’s been hard for me to keep friends and aides. The reason why is because I have fears, routines, rituals, fetishes, phobias and hangups that people don’t understand, nor do they want to bother. Like I said before I have a lot of meltdowns. I have noise sensitivities to certain noises. Train whistles, very loud voices, motorcycles, blenders, etc. are noises that I don’t like because they hurt my ears. I don’t like bright lights because they hurt my eyes. I have a sense of humor, I’m funny, so much fun and witty as long as you are genuinely accepting of me. I am also tender-hearted, caring and compassionate and I don’t lack empathy for others.

I love people, kids, babies and animals. I love hugs and love being hugged. However, I don’t like people standing too close to me.

Please get to know me and ask questions before you judge me. Please don’t talk over me, or at me or down to me. Please know that I am not here to hurt anybody but I am here to tell my autism story.

I feel very sad when people are mean to me, or get really nasty towards me. I don’t like that at all. Please know that on Facebook, this is my wall. I don’t like drama, and I look for those who are going to understand and accept me. Those who wish to be my forever friends.

I have faith and am an outgoing person.. I am not a mean person, and like I said before, I am only here to tell my autism story. I am here to help fight against the ableistic bigotry and the stigma that is still out there.

I wrote this because I’ve had a lot of problems being understood.

Thank you, everybody, for listening.

Leave a Reply

