People Need to Understand Before They Are Quick to Judge

A guy who I don’t even know sent me the following message this morning. I wanted to share this with you because this is why we are here as activists, to stomp out the bullying and judgementalism against us autistic people.

Random Man: So in What Way are You Disabled ? Because I See Nothing Wrong with You . Your Absolutely Perfect .

My response: I am autistic. And you are right, there’s nothing wrong with me because I am disabled. Just because I’m autistic doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with me. And why would you say that I am not disabled? I am indeed disabled. You can not tell an autistic person that she/he isn’t autistic, nor can you tell a disabled person that he/she isn’t disabled. You are not a doctor. Read our stories and blogs, and get to know us before you start to judge or make assumptions of us.

The Autism Women’s Network

Autistic Hoya

Boycott Autism Speaks

Emma’s Hopebook

Love Explosions.Net

The Autism Wars

Ollibean

Yes, That Too

Radical Neurodivergence Speaking

Judy Endow

Karla’s ASD Page

And maybe think before you make assumptions of me next time.

Yeah so this is what happened this morning. The guy was really ignorant, and his tone sounded really condescending the way he wrote it. I blocked him from messaging me immediately after I responded.

Leave a Reply

