Starbucks in my community? Let’s show them why we #BoycottAutismSpeaks

There Once Was a Boy Named Lucas Alexander

On Labor Day I took my son to Starbucks for a little mother-son date. While we were there, we noticed this flyer advertising upcoming events supported by a program called Starbucks in the Community:

photo

Notice especially the Autism Speaks event in the middle, one of the ubiquitous walks A$ holds around the country. Given that I support the #BoycottAutismSpeaks movement, I inquired at the counter about who I could talk to about removing support from this A$ event. I was given a business card, and wrote the following letter the next day. (I’m sharing the letter in full both so I don’t have to resort to awkward “and then I said” reportage, and also in case anyone wants to borrow the wording or the rhetoric in future letters to Starbucks. I hereby give blanket permission for you to share and use this.)

***

“Dear Ms. [name redacted],

“Yesterday I took…

View original post 1,283 more words

Leave a Reply

