I Am Autistic, And I Am Not Giving Up!

I am an autistic adult, and I am not giving up on the fight against ableism. There is so much ableism in the world, and there is so much hatred and discrimination against disabled people, autistic people included. We need to stop ableism and we need to fight against it. Please know that I am not writing any of my blog posts to get pity. I am writing my blog posts for educational purposes, and because there are still people out there who don’t understand autism.

We as autistic people need to fight against ableism, because a lot of us are denied services, and we are teased, made fun of, gaslighted, exploited, stared at, silenced, being dismissed of our feelings, squelched, teased and tortured. Worst of all, there are a lot of autistics who are murdered. It really saddens me that this happens to a lot of us. It could happen to other disabled people besides us autistics. It could even happen to me. We are given dirty looks constantly, whether it’s in a store, church, stadium, concert, synod, synagogue, etc. Families turn their backs on us, so do our friends, and it’s really disheartening to see that.

I hope that one day people will start being more accepting of us. I hope that one day people will love and respect us. I hope that one day people will stop calling us names, making fun of us, and teasing and torturing us. Because we know that we notice these things. We know we notice the dirty looks, the rude comments, the hatred and ableism that  is aimed at us. Ableism is ugly and cruel. Ableism is unacceptable and wrong. Ableism is something that we need to fight against every day.

We as autistic people should not be treated as less-than or Othered. We as autistic people should be treated like people with kindness and respect. I don’t support electroshock therapy on autistic people, and I don’t support JRC because it performs electroshock therapy on autistic people. I don’t support the MMS/chlorine bleach enigmas because bleach isn’t something that you should drink, and it’s not something that is safe for autistic people. What’s safe for autistic people, including myself, is that autistic people need to be loved, accepted, and treated with kindness and respect.

We as autistic people need to be treated with kindness and respect at all times. The ableism, discrimination and hatred that we recieve is horrific. People tell us autistic people that our lives are not worth living. People tell us autistic people that we are burdens, tragedies, and an epidemic. People tell us autistic people that our lives are not of value. That really, really hurts my heart. Not only am I fighting against ableism, but I know that there are other people that are fighting against ableism just like I am.

It saddens me that a lot of people want to eradicate us, stigmatize us, and treat us like we are less-than or Othered. Sadly there is ableism in the churches as well. There are some Christians who want to talk bad about us and think that our lives don’t matter. I am hoping that one day this will change. But the good part about it is that churches have a special needs ministry. I am glad that some churches have that, but I’m really hoping that one day all churches do, including mine.

I am thankful that I have friends at my church who love and accept me. I am thankful that I have my autism community friends. I am thankful for all of my Facebook and Twitter friends. I am thankful that I am writing blog posts on Tumblr, WordPress, Hatena, Blogger and Typepad. I would like my story to go viral, because as autistic people, we have a voice. We have a story to tell. Please don’t muzzle, silence, or dismiss us. Please don’t make fun of us. There’s nothing about us without us. Always.

Leave a Reply

